Improving the lives of Women and GirlsSoroptimist International of the Americas, Inc. Western Canada Region
WC Soroptimist

SI of Saskatoon

Club email:

Chartered in 1956.

Chartered in 1956, SI Saskatoon is located in the hub of the Saskatchewan wheat land and is a diverse group of vibrant business and professional women working together to better the lives of women and girls within their community.


Local Donations

Since 2004 SI of Saskatoon has been the presenting sponsor for an annual fashion show fundraiser put on by the Saskatoon Sexual Assault & Information Centre.  Funds raised at the fashion show targets and supports the centre’s Crisis Line.  The club has also been a long-time contributor to the Crisis Shelter operated by the local YWCA, the Street Outreach Program operated by Egadz Youth Centre, and has also provided funding to the local Girl Guides of Canada that has allowed girls of limited means to participate in their camp programs. Club funds have also been used for the purchase of backpacks and school supplies for young single mothers using the services of Millies Daycare, housed in Nutana Collegiate.


Annual Signature Awards

Women’s Opportunity Award

The Saskatoon Club awards an annual bursary under this award category.  This award is presented to qualified women who have been forced to put their dreams on hold as girls and are ready to begin a new life, and are the primary financial support for their families.  Preference is given to women who could use a hand up to overcome personal difficulties and attend a vocational/skills training program or undergraduate degree program.  Funds from this award may be used to offset any costs associated with furthering their education, including books, childcare and transportation.


Violet Richardson Award

This award honors young women between 14 and 17 who volunteer to make a positive difference in their community or school.  They are the type of young women who see fighting drugs, cleaning up the environment or ending discrimination as a challenge, rather than an obstacle.  Like Violet Richardson, who set an example as Vice-President of the first Soroptimist club in 1921, those receiving this award believe in the power of volunteer action.


Caroline Robins Award

This is a local club award initiated in 1968.  Presently this award is open to all students attending Nutana Collegiate.  It rewards students who have good academic standing or whose academic standing has shown constant improvement.  Other criteria include dependability, leadership, clear sense of purpose and good citizenship.  If a student has overcome some adversity, that too is taken into consideration.


Monthly Club Meeting:

4th Monday of the month
5:30 – 7pm  The Saskatoon Club

Contact:                          Melanie Kenney, 2013/2014 President
Paige Barnes, 2013/2014 Secretary


Join Us

We always welcome inquiries and new members.  Come out and find out what SI of Saskatoon is all about at our upcoming Members Social and Information Evening. 

Monday, May 14, 2012

Come & Go  5:30 – 7pm

The Saskatoon Club




Become a member!


Keep Informed

  • Get the latest news, events and articles!